Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
University of Oxford Faculty of English

Clarendon Lectures

The Clarendon Lecture series is run across the University.

The 2015 series will be given by Professor Amanda Anderson, Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Humanities and English, and Director of the Cogut Center for the Humanities at Brown University. The lecture series will be given in November 2015 and the poster for the series can be viewed here.

Lectures will take place in Room 6, Examination Schools, and all are welcome to attend.

The theme for Professor Amanda Anderson's lectures is 'Psyche and Ethos'. The individual lectures are entitled:

10 November: Psychology Contra Morality

12 November: In the Middle of Life

17 November: Psychic Life and the Claims of Others

19 November: A Human Science


Recent Clarendon Lecturers in English include:

Professor Thomas Keymer, Chancellor Jackman Professor of English at the University of Toronto, on 'Poetics of the Pillory: English Literature and Seditious Libel, 1660-1820' (November 2014).

Professor David Bromwich, Sterling Professor of English at Yale University on 'How Words Make Things Happen' (October 2013). 

Professor Brian Cummings, Professor of English, University of Sussex, on 'Bibliophobia' (October/November 2012)

Professor Terry Castle, Walter A Haas Professor in the Humanities, Stanford University, on 'Rococophilia' (November 2011)

Professor Quentin Skinner, Barber Beaumont Professor of the Humanities at Queen Mary, University of London on 'Shakespeare and Rhetorical Invention' (February 2011).

Professor James Simpson, Donald P. and Katherine B. Loker Professor of English, Harvard University on 'The Iniquity of the Fathers: Iconoclasm in the Anglo-American Tradition' (May 2009).

Professor Michael Wood, University of Princeton on 'Yeats and Violence' (February 2008).

David Wallace (2007).
Helen Vendler (2004).
Marina Warner (2001).
Mary Jacobus (1997).
Nguigi we Thiong'O (1996).
Seamus Deane (1995).
Jacqueline Rose (1994).
Stanley Fish (1993).
Henry Louis Gates (1992).
Margaret Atwood (1991).
Christopher Ricks (1990).
Elaine Showalter (1989).
Stephen Greenblatt (1988).
Frank Kermode (1987).